Big Ten

The Big Ten Conference, formerly Western Conference and Big Nine Conference, is the oldest Division I college athletic conference in the United States. Its twelve member institutions (which are primarily flagship research universities in their respective states, well-regarded academically, and with relatively large student enrollment) are located primarily in the Midwest, stretching from Nebraska in the west to Penn State in the east. The conference competes in the NCAA's Division I. Despite the conference's name, the Big Ten actually consists of 12 schools, and in 2014, will expand to 14 members.

Member schools are University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign, Indiana University, University of Iowa, University of Michigan, Michigan State University, University of Minnesota, University of Nebraska–Lincoln, Northwestern University, Ohio State University, Pennsylvania State University, Purdue University, University of Wisconsin–Madison, University of Maryland, and Rutgers University. (ECS schools are bold)

Avg Academics of ECS Schools
Avg Soccer Level of ECS Schools
NCAA Division
ECS / Total Teams
Primary Geography
Mid Atlantic, Midwest